Why Businesses Need To Know About CMMC Compliance

CMMC Compliance

Compliance with CMMC, which stands for Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification, has to do with whether an organization or company has the security systems to work with controlled or vulnerable data. One example of why this is important is for companies that plan on working with the Department of Defense. These companies need to be highly CMMC-rated and follow detailed CMMC regulations.

Some of the Details of What CMMC Is About

Although CMMC has been around for some time, there have been recent updates to the protocols. For companies to understand where they fit into the hierarchy, they need to reference the existing documents and framework of the certification to answer the question of what is CMMC compliance.

The primary purpose of CMMC is to help determine how robust and mature an organization’s cybersecurity initiatives are. This purpose is not limited to a company’s ability to maintain its security. 

It also includes ways that their security can be better optimized and become more efficient. In addition, it measures whether companies are proactively or reactively handling their security. 

The Types of Companies That Would Need CMMC Certification

The primary purpose of CMMC certification is a requirement of any organization that operates with Department of Defense information. If that company operates with non-classified information, it most likely only needs a Level Three clearance or less. 

On the other hand, if the company operates with very high valued information, it most likely needs a clearance level of number four or higher. For any company, one thing to remember is that all classifications get set on a project-by-project basis.

What the Various Levels of Certification Mean

On the spectrum of CMMC certification, Level One is the lowest and most basic level, and Level Five is the highest. As you might imagine, the higher you go on the scale, the harder it is to achieve that level of certification.

Level One is one that most companies probably achieve without doing much to change their current security systems. In practical terms, this level means things like password hygiene and robust antivirus software protection. 

At the opposite end of the scale, Level Five certification means companies are using proactive methods to detect and blunt any security threats before they begin. This level also means companies have the infrastructure to audit their systems, identify any gaps, and then repair those gaps. In short, a Level Five system is constantly in the optimization process. 

Every level in CMMC certification builds upon the one below it. That means that a company at Level Four has already met the criteria for the three levels below that. 

Deciding if Your Business Needs CMMC Certification

There are specific organizations that a company can work with, such as the Department of Defense, that will require a certain level of CMMC certification. Even for companies that don’t work with organizations like this, achieving a certain level of CMMC certification is always important. 

Companies should constantly strive to ensure that their vital data, systems, and communication are always secure. So for the owners of businesses like this, achieving even a basic level of CMMC certification can simply be for their own peace of mind.