We all understand the importance of abiding by traffic laws. Unfortunately, a lot of people either don’t know these laws, or choose to purposefully ignore them when convenient. This puts not only their own lives, but also other people’s lives in danger. However, matters like this can be dealt with. If you need a speeding law attorney, McCutchen & Sexton have dedicated professionals willing to help you out. below in this article, we will cover the Are you a victim of speeding accident in Arkansas? Know your laws
Arkansas has the Arkansas Administrative Point System to keep reckless drivers in check, and this is how it works:
There are other offenses for which points are deducted; however, these are the most common ones.
Reckless driving is one of the most common causes for accidents. It refers to driving where the driver disregards the safety of people or property, resulting in damage to it. Tin Arkansas, reckless driving is considered a criminal offense, and whoever commits it has to face criminal as well as administrative licensing penalties. To be considered driving recklessly, the driver must be
- Driving while distracted
- Failing to watch for traffic
- Damaging private property
- Skidding tires
Driving whilst drunk
These offenses, referred to as either DWI (Driving While Intoxicated) or DUI (Driving under the Influence) are strictly prohibited by the Arkansas law. Throughout the US, the blood alcohol content (BAC) limits for driving are the same.
- In Arkansas, intoxication is at a BAC of .08% or greater, which is when the driver’s comprehensive ability, or motor skill, is slightly altered.
- In order to be held responsible, the driver only has to have control over the vehicle. This does not mean the vehicle has to be mobile or the engine has to be running. Physical control is prohibited.
In Arkansas, the law states that the speed of a vehicle has to be “reasonable and prudent” under the present conditions. You must also drive at a speed that is required to avoid any collisions. To narrow it down, a speed that would be considered “safe” depending on the situation would be, for example, 55 miles per hour on a bright and sunny day. However, in heavy rain or snow, or even an icy road, the same speed might prove to be lethal.
Arkansas has banned cell phone use for all drivers under the age of 18. Drivers between 18 and 20 years of age are banned from using handheld devices only. People of over 21 years are not allowed to use handheld devices in school or work zones.
- School bus drivers may not use cellphones unless it’s for an emergency.
Driving without a license
This one is the most obvious and it is a law that applies worldwide. Driving without a license is a major offense. This includes possessing a license and not having it on you at the time of driving, along with having a suspended, expired or revoked license. This is bound to lead to serious charges against you, and in no case can it be excused.